Logo der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
  1. Events
  2. Annual themes

Annual themes

The theme for the Science Year 2016/2017 is Seas and oceans. You can find out about this topic and the people and organisations behind it here.

The Federal Ministry of Education and Research in Germany launched the first Science Year in 2000. Since then, it has chosen a host of different themes and disciplines each year, with topics ranging from physics through energy to demographic change. The Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities joined the initiative in 2007 and has been organising its own events since.

Science Year 2016/2017: Seas and oceans

Scientists have been exploring oceans for hundreds of years. Yet these vast tracts of water remain a mystery to us and are largely still unexplored. Experts from the worlds of politics, science and other institutes regularly provide information on areas related to marine research. You can find out further information on current projects and the science behind this subject here.

Science Year 2015 - City of the future

Most people on our planet today live in cities. After all, they have a lot to offer. And science and research can make them even more attractive.

Internationally renowned city planner Jaime Lerner summed up it perfectly when he said: "The city is not the problem. It is the solution." The theme of the Science Year 2015 - City of the future reflects this sentiment perfectly. Cities continuously evolve. And this makes them centres of innovation. They have the potential to be ecological, social and economic models of sustainable development.

Today, cities consume three quarters of all energy and emit 70 percent of greenhouse gases produced by humans. If we want to live in a sustainable world, we have to get city dwellers on board. And we can only do this through science and research. We have to develop solutions that meet peoples' needs. Which is why one of the key aims of Science Year 2015 – City of the future is to develop new forms of civic engagement that enable citizens to collaborate with members of the scientific community and help shape the future of the cities in which they live.

 

 

 

Science Year 2014 - Digital society

Digitalisation affects every aspect of our daily lives. Digital technologies are paving the way for new service models and developments in almost every walk of life. The way we live, communicate and obtain information has changed dramatically in the last 25 years through a revolution comparable only to the invention of the printing press. These developments harbour great potential but also stir up fears and raise many different questions.

Year of Science 2014: Annual themes
Science and research play an important role in digitalisation, helping drive and support the transition to a digital world. Research in this area no longer focuses exclusively on technological innovations and solutions. Economic, social and psychological issues are becoming increasingly important here too.

How can we shape the future of our digital society?
The Science Year 2014 looks at how digitalisation is changing us as individuals and society as a whole. It provides a platform for collectively discussing the key challenges that our digital society will face in the future. How can we protect our privacy? Will we soon be able to fit the entire knowledge of the world on a single hard drive? Is sharing the shopping of the future?

Link to events

Logo der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
  1. Veranstaltungen
  2. Themenjahre

Themenjahre

Das Wissenschaftsjahr 2016/2017 widmet sich dem Thema "Ozeane und Meere". Hier erfahren Sie mehr über die Hintergründe und Initiatoren des Jahres.

Seit dem Jahr 2000 widmen sich die vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung initiierten Wissenschaftsjahre zahlreichen Themen und Disziplinen - von der Physik über die Energie bis hin zum demografischen Wandel. Die Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften beteiligt sich seit 2007 mit eigenen Veranstaltungen.

Wissenschaftsjahr 2016/2017 - Ozeane und Meere

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler untersuchen die Ozeane seit Jahrhunderten; und doch sind sie noch immer geheimnisvoll und in weiten Teilen unerforscht. Expertinnen und Experten aus Politik, Wissenschaft und Verbänden geben regelmäßig Einblick in Themen, die die Meeresforschung betreffen. Hier erhalten Sie einen Einblick zu aktuellen Projekten und Inhalten der Wissenschaft zu diesem Thema.

Wissenschaftsjahr 2015 - Zukunftsstadt

Die Stadt ist für die meisten Menschen heute schon der Lebensort Nummer eins. Denn das Leben in der Stadt ist attraktiv. Dazu tragen auch Wissenschaft und Forschung bei.

Der international renommierte Stadtplaner Jaime Lerner brachte es auf den Punkt: „Die Stadt ist nicht das Problem. Die Stadt ist die Lösung.“ Diesem Anspruch folgt das "Wissenschaftsjahr 2015 – Zukunftsstadt". Weil Städte sich permanent entwickeln, sind sie auch Orte der Innovation. Sie können ein ökologisches, soziales und ökonomisches Modell für nachhaltige Entwicklungen sein.

Heute wird in Städten drei Viertel der Energie verbraucht und 70 Prozent der von Menschen erzeugten Treibhausgase emittiert. Wer nachhaltig leben will, muss zunächst die Stadtbewohner davon überzeugen. Das gelingt nur mit Wissenschaft und Forschung. Deren Angebote müssen zu den Bedürfnissen der Menschen passen. Im "Wissenschaftsjahr 2015 – Zukunftsstadt" sollen darum neue Formate der Beteiligung entwickelt werden. Dabei gestalten Bürgerinnen und Bürger ihre Städte gemeinsam mit der Wissenschaft.

Wissenschaftsjahr 2014 - Die digitale Gesellschaft

Die Digitalisierung durchdringt unseren Alltag - in nahezu allen gesellschaftlichen Bereichen sind digitale Technologien Voraussetzung und Begleiter neuer Entwicklungen. Wie wir uns informieren, wie wir leben und wie wir kommunizieren, hat sich in den vergangenen 25 Jahren dramatisch verändert - eine Revolution, die sich wohl nur mit der Erfindung des Buchdrucks vergleichen lässt. Diese Entwicklungen bergen viel Potenzial, wecken aber auch Ängste und werfen Fragen auf.

Wissenschaftsjahr 2014: Die Themen des Jahres
Wissenschaft und Forschung spielen als Treiber und Begleiter des digitalen Wandels eine wichtige Rolle. Neben der Entwicklung technischer Innovationen und Lösungen rücken mehr und mehr auch ökonomische, soziale und psychologische Forschungsfragen in den Vordergrund.

Wie gestalten wir die Zukunft der digitalen Gesellschaft?
Das Wissenschaftsjahr 2014 stellt daher die Frage, wie wir uns durch die Digitalisierung als Einzelne und als Gesellschaft verändern. Und lädt ein, die zentralen Herausforderungen für die Zukunft der digitalen Gesellschaft gemeinsam zu diskutieren. Wie sichern wir unsere Privatsphäre? Wird das gesamte Wissen der Welt bald auf eine Festplatte passen? Und ist Sharing das Shopping der Zukunft?

Zu den Veranstaltungen